Waiting

One day away, less than 24 hours until the final prove up hearing, and so far this morning has continued what seems like a constant waiting game.  Frustrating as it can be, it is obviously part of the divorce process.  When one of the parties is one who has no sense of urgency, largely due to a reluctance to make a decision on their own, the waiting game can be excrutiatingly painful to the other party.  I am used to reviewing detailed contracts as part of my job, something I have been doing for 30 years.  In my job, if a detail is missed or not addressed there could be serious consequences.  Over the years I have developed work habits that have become life habits, exhibited in the way I have responded during the divorce process.  Those habits have helped move things along.  I filed at the beginning of April, am aware that having the divorce granted by November is relatively quick.  Despite my divorcing a procrastinator, things have moved along at relative light speed.

Yesterday, my lawyer filed the necessary documents required for tomorrow.  He sent them to her lawyer yesterday morning.  We expected to have a signed settlement from her by this morning, but nothing has been received.  I was supposed to go to my lawyer’s office today and add my signatures to the settlement document, get a briefing for tomorrow’s hearing.  Nothing my wife or her lawyer does is common sense preparation, so it looks like tomorrow will be a whirlwind.  Maybe something will happen this afternoon.  I can only hope.

This morning I realized a parallel to the time period it has taken for this divorce in regards to the time of our courtship.  Our first date was in October, with our wedding the following October.  She asked for the divorce last November, the divorce is being granted in the following November.  Some people might call that spooky!

Leave a comment